[GTLD-WG] [CPWG] Reminder - Today by 17:00 UTC: ACTION/ALAC and CPWG Members: Statement on Evolving ICANN’s Multistakeholder Model

Bastiaan Goslings bastiaan.goslings at ams-ix.net
Thu Jun 6 07:50:45 UTC 2019


All,

Thanks for the efforts that have been put into drafting the statement.

I understand that we’re finalising our contribution, although we still have a week before the deadline. I just want to note for the record that, following comments during yesterday’s call that ALAC/At-Large should not only be more forceful in conveying its message but should also be as ’S.M.A.R.T.’ as possible when doing so (both of which I agree with), text like the one on page 4:

'What we have currently is an unbalanced multistakeholder model in which some parties have far more power than others. For an example of how our community is affected, At-Large works in the best interests of more than 4 billionend users on the Internet, but has only one seat on the ICANN Board. We have also been underrepresented in the current EPDP, which may well carry through to other applications of the “PDP 3.0” model’

in my opinion is quite ‘aggressive’ however it lacks substantiation. Both when it comes to the ‘some parties have far more power than others’ and the ‘examples’ that follow. Without stating an opinion whether I agree or not, I think that making these bold type of statements while not being S.M.A.R.T. and rational in our argumentation, brings a risk that our suggestions are not taken on board and into consideration. And can have an undesired effect on how the At-Large, as the representative of end-users, is perceived as a serious counterpart in deliberations within an ICANN governance context.

thanks
Bastiaan




***  Please note that this communication is confidential, legally privileged, and subject to a disclaimer: https://www.ams-ix.net/ams/email-disclaimer  ***



> On 3 Jun 2019, at 08:59, ICANN At-Large Staff <staff at atlarge.icann.org> wrote:
> 
> Dear All,
> 
> A kind reminder to please make final comments on the ALAC Statement on Evolving ICANN’s Multistakeholder Model today, Monday, June 03 by 17:00 UTC.
> 
> Please make any final comments, if needed, by edits on the Word Doc (attached), comments to the At-Large workspace, or by replying to staff/Evin.
> 
> Thank you,
> 
> ICANN Policy Staff in support of the At-Large Community
> Website: atlarge.icann.org
> Facebook: facebook.com/icannatlarge
> Twitter: @ICANNAtLarge
> 
> 
> From: Evin Erdogdu <evin.erdogdu at icann.org> on behalf of ICANN At-Large Staff <staff at atlarge.icann.org>
> Date: Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 2:43 PM
> To: Maureen Hilyard <maureen.hilyard at gmail.com>, John Laprise <jlaprise at gmail.com>, Tijani BEN JEMAA <tijani.benjemaa at topnet.tn>, Sebastien Bachollet <sebicann at bachollet.fr>, Ricardo Holmquist <rihogris at gmail.com>, Marita Moll <mmoll at ca.inter.net>, Javier Rua <javrua at gmail.com>, Bartlett Morgan <bartlett.morgan at gmail.com>, Humberto Carrasco <hcarrascob at gmail.com>, Joanna Kulesza <joannakulesza at gmail.com>, Bastiaan Goslings <bastiaan.goslings at ams-ix.net>, Holly Raiche <h.raiche at internode.on.net>, Kan Kaili <kankaili at gmail.com>, Seun Ojedeji <seun.ojedeji at gmail.com>, Hadia Abdelsalam Mokhtar EL miniawi <Hadia at tra.gov.eg>, "cpwg at icann.org" <cpwg at icann.org>
> Cc: ICANN At-Large Staff <staff at atlarge.icann.org>, Evin Erdogdu <evin.erdogdu at icann.org>
> Subject: ACTION/ALAC and CPWG Members by 03 June 17:00 UTC: Statement on Evolving ICANN’s Multistakeholder Model
> 
> Dear ALAC and CPWG Members,
> 
> The Google Doc has been closed for the ALAC Statement on Evolving ICANN’s Multistakeholder Model, and the final draft of the version is attached in Word for final comment by Monday, June 03 at 17:00 UTC.
> 
> Please make any final comments, if needed, by edits on the Word Doc (attached), comments to the At-Large workspace, or by replying to staff/Evin.
> 
> Kind Regards,
> 
> ICANN Policy Staff in support of the At-Large Community
> Website: atlarge.icann.org
> Facebook: facebook.com/icannatlarge
> Twitter: @ICANNAtLarge
> 
> <ALAC Statement on Evolving ICANN’s Multistakeholder Model.docx>

-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: signature.asc
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 488 bytes
Desc: Message signed with OpenPGP
URL: <http://atlarge-lists.icann.org/pipermail/gtld-wg/attachments/20190606/24d96cfa/signature.asc>
-------------- next part --------------
_______________________________________________
CPWG mailing list
CPWG at icann.org
https://mm.icann.org/mailman/listinfo/cpwg

_______________________________________________
By submitting your personal data, you consent to the processing of your personal data for purposes of subscribing to this mailing list accordance with the ICANN Privacy Policy (https://www.icann.org/privacy/policy) and the website Terms of Service (https://www.icann.org/privacy/tos). You can visit the Mailman link above to change your membership status or configuration, including unsubscribing, setting digest-style delivery or disabling delivery altogether (e.g., for a vacation), and so on.


More information about the GTLD-WG mailing list