[tz] Rule ChileAQ in antarctica

Glenn Eychaner geychaner at lco.cl
Sat Dec 3 01:06:35 UTC 2011

On Dec 2, 2011, at 9:37 PM, tz-request at iana.org wrote:

> Zone Antarctica/Palmer is currently defined as -
> [...]
> The comment mentions that Palmer station keeps the same time as Punta 
> Arenas, Chile.
> However, Rule Chile in southamerica was updated in 2008a, 2010d, 2011c and 
> 2011e. The rules for Chile after 1999 are defined as below in the current 
> version.
> [...]
> If the comment for Antarctica/Palmer is still true, then I think ChileAQ 
> in antarctica should be also updated. Does anyone know if ChileAQ in 
> antarctica was intentionally unchanged or, it's just an error?

As far as I (one of the people who proposed the Chile 2010/2011 changes) know, it's an error.  (I completely forgot about Chile's Antarctic territiory, and that it would appear in a separate file.) Officially, Chile's Antarctic territory is supposed to follow the same rule as the rest of Chile (according to horaoffical.cl).  I don't know if that actually happens in practice, or if the other Antarctic territories have also followed all the shifts in Chile's rules.

Glenn Eychaner (geychaner at lco.cl)
Telescope Systems Programmer, Las Campanas Observatory

More information about the tz mailing list