Proposed tz changes for Egypt, Indiana, Australia, and Antarctica

Robert Elz kre at munnari.OZ.AU
Sat Aug 18 03:07:11 UTC 2007

    Date:        Fri, 17 Aug 2007 15:56:11 -0700
    From:        Paul Eggert <eggert at CS.UCLA.EDU>
    Message-ID:  <87tzqx6a9g.fsf at>

  | * South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and New South Wales are changing
  |   their DST rules effective next year.  DST will end the first Sunday in
  |   April at 03:00 and start the first Sunday in October at 03:00.  Lord Howe
  |   Island has a similar change.

What you have in the zone files looks correct, but the start time remains 02:00
(local standard time, and wallclock time - it becomes 03:00), just the end time
is 03:00 (wallclock - 02:00 standard time).

Also, if NSW are changing (and they apparently are) then you can be 99.99999%
certain that ACT will be changing along with them (in theory it could be
different, it needs different legislation, but it has never been different
than NSW, and so there's no separate zone for it - just a link to Sydney).


More information about the tz mailing list