FW: Proposed change to zone.tab

Dirkjan Ochtman dirkjan at ochtman.nl
Wed May 18 11:56:31 UTC 2011

On Wed, May 18, 2011 at 13:46, Gwillim Law <RLAW at nc.rr.com> wrote:
> The ISO code for "Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba" is BQ. This set of
> islands, also known as "Caribbean Netherlands", is an integral part of the
> Netherlands, but so was Netherlands Antilles before it was dissolved. If AN
> wasn't included in the Netherlands before the split-up, BQ doesn't need to
> be included in the Netherlands now.

Whereas the Netherlands Antilles was a constituent country within the
Netherlands before the dissolution, Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba
are now special municipalities, suggesting less independence of the
Dutch government.

That said, if they have gained an ISO country code in that process, it
likely makes more sense to list them under their own country code in



More information about the tz mailing list