Capital change Lagos/Abuja

Jesper Nørgaard jnorgard at
Mon Jan 10 04:18:33 UTC 2000

I'm not sure if there exists a rule that the tzdata files should use the capital of a country as base e.g. "Europe/Copenhagen" when there is only one time zone in a country. However, if that is the convention which is followed, it might interest you that Nigeria apparently changed capital in 1991 from Lagos to Abuja.

My best source (there are plenty) is which mentions the date for the capital change as being of December 1991:

===== quote ========
Capital: Abuja 
note: on 12 December 1991 the capital was officially moved from Lagos to Abuja; many government offices remain in Lagos pending completion of facilities in Abuja.
===== unquote ========

Jesper Nørgaard
Email: jnorgard at	
CIMMYT  -  Centro Internacional de Mejoramiento de Maíz y Trigo
Dirección: CIMMYT,  Lisboa 27,  06600  Mexico, D.F.
Tel.:	+52 (5) 7267541  ext. 1374
Fax:	+52 (5) 7267558
Tel. Casa:   53-10-05-95  ó  53-10-97-78
CIMMYT home page:

More information about the tz mailing list