Russian cities

Jesper Nørgaard jnorgard at
Sun Aug 26 16:33:50 UTC 2001

There is yet another discrepancy between the list
and the link that the first
list has Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk on GMT+11 while the second link
from Anton Star has Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk on GMT+10.

I have decided to trust the Anton Star list because it is very well
built with a lot of details about many other issues of regional information,
and all of those informations that I was able to cross-check came out
true and correct (for instance population counters or flags of oblast's)
and besides as Oscar points out some other information about
Tajikistan etc. are apparently not correct on the first list.


Jesper Nørgaard Welen
Email: jnorgard at	
Project Leader (Líder de Proyecto) Software
CIMMYT  -  Centro Internacional de Mejoramiento de Maíz y Trigo
Dirección: CIMMYT Int. c/o Jesper Nørgaard
Km. 45, Carretera México-Veracruz
El Batán
Texcoco, Edo. de México
CP 56130   MEXICO
Tel.:	+52 (5) 58-04-20-04  ext. 1374
Fax:	+52 (5) 58-04-75-58
Tel. Casa:   53-10-05-95  ó  53-10-97-78
CIMMYT home page:
Check out my free program World Time Explorer:

From: 	Oscar van Vlijmen[SMTP:o.van.vlijmen at]
Sent: 	Domingo 26 de Agosto de 2001 9:01
To: 	TZ-list
Subject: 	Re: Russian cities

>From Paul Eggert:

> Also, the two maps disagree about
> Ul'yanovskaya oblast' <>,
> Altajskij kraj <>,
> and Respublika Altaj <>.
> says the first is at UTC+4 and the other
> two at UTC+7; says UTC+3 and UTC+6 respectively.

In my email dated 2001-06-13 a couple of Russian language timezone lists are
These lists say:

* Ul'yanovsk, in the Ul'yanovskaya oblast' - timezone Moswow + 1 (UTC+4 in
* Barnaul, in the Altajskij kraj - timezone Moscow +4 (UTC+7 in winter)
* Gorno-Altaijsk, in the Respublika Altaj - timezone Moscow +4 (UTC+7 in
winter) gives the same information.
See for one of those lists e.g.

By the way, these lists say Azerbajdzhan, Kazakhstan, Tadzhikistan,
Turkmeniya and Uzbekistan don't do DST.
But, says Azerbajdzhan and Kazakhstan (3 zones) do obey
DST, while Tadzhikistan, Turkmeniya and Uzbekistan do not, which is the same
information the tz-database gives.

There is another discrepancy between and
According to the Arkhangel'skaya oblast' consists of the mainland
part, the island Novaya Zemlya and the islet Kolguyev, all within the same
timezone as Moscow. Worldtimezone however puts Kolguyev in the Moscow zone
and Novaya Zemlya in the Moscow+1 zone.

Hmmm, it's very difficult to get some definitive answers!


Oscar van Vlijmen

More information about the tz mailing list