Information wanted #2: Russian Decree #725 vs. tzdata2011k

Yury Tarasievich yury.tarasievich at
Tue Sep 27 06:39:02 UTC 2011

This decree reduced the number of (internal) 
timezones (/chasovyye poyasa/) in Russia. The 
boundaries of internal timezones follow the 
boundaries of international timezones, roughly, 
but get modified by the administrative borders etc.

The USSR spanned 12 zones (2nd to 13th), 
however, there were large regions observing, in 
fact, the neighbouring timezone's zonal time (on 
economical reasons, as I recall). This system 
was inherited by Russia after 1991.

Now there are 9 (previously, there were talks of 
simplifying the system).


On 09/27/2011 07:25 AM, Arthur David Olson wrote:
> There are five places where this year's Russian Government Decree #725...
> ...and tzdata2011k differ on what current time is:

More information about the tz mailing list