[UA-discuss] Fwd: Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender

Hazem Hezzah hhezzah.las at gmail.com
Thu Feb 9 12:25:14 UTC 2017



Just for your knowledge,  all your replies land in my spam folder too.   It is a normal Gmail account

Seems there is something to be set with your outgoing server.



Hazem Hezzah


From: ua-discuss-bounces at icann.org [mailto:ua-discuss-bounces at icann.org] On Behalf Of Asmus Freytag (c)
Sent: Wednesday, 08 February, 2017 20:47
To: ua-discuss at icann.org
Subject: [UA-discuss] Fwd: Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender


Well, now, this is ironic! (Read to the end)


-------- Forwarded Message -------- 


Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender


Wed, 08 Feb 2017 13:42:18 -0500


Mail Delivery System  <mailto:Mailer-Daemon at elasmtp-dupuy.atl.sa.earthlink.net> <Mailer-Daemon at elasmtp-dupuy.atl.sa.earthlink.net>


asmusf at ix.netcom.com


This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
  ajay at data.in
    SMTP error from remote mail server after MAIL FROM: <mailto:asmusf at ix.netcom.com> <asmusf at ix.netcom.com>:
    host tls.spamjadoo.com []: 550  Sender has been blocked due to spam activity
------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------
Return-path:  <mailto:asmusf at ix.netcom.com> <asmusf at ix.netcom.com>
Received: from [] (helo=[])
        by elasmtp-dupuy.atl.sa.earthlink.net with esmtpa (Exim 4.67)
        (envelope-from  <mailto:asmusf at ix.netcom.com> <asmusf at ix.netcom.com>)
        id 1cbXBp-0004rw-RT
        for ajay at data.in; Wed, 08 Feb 2017 13:42:02 -0500
Subject: Re: Re : [ajay.uasg at data.in] Re: [UA-discuss] Spam Filtering
To: "Dr. AJAY D A T A"  <mailto:ajay at data.in> <ajay at data.in>
References:  <mailto:1610141549.1508501486577296761.JavaMail.root at mx2.datainfosys.com> <1610141549.1508501486577296761.JavaMail.root at mx2.datainfosys.com>
From: "Asmus Freytag (c)"  <mailto:asmusf at ix.netcom.com> <asmusf at ix.netcom.com>
Message-ID:  <mailto:c8c80f8e-99fb-9069-123b-d60d0c5ec9ee at ix.netcom.com> <c8c80f8e-99fb-9069-123b-d60d0c5ec9ee at ix.netcom.com>
Date: Wed, 8 Feb 2017 10:42:02 -0800
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:45.0) Gecko/20100101
MIME-Version: 1.0
In-Reply-To:  <mailto:1610141549.1508501486577296761.JavaMail.root at mx2.datainfosys.com> <1610141549.1508501486577296761.JavaMail.root at mx2.datainfosys.com>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
This is a multi-part message in MIME format.
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8; format=flowed
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
On 2/8/2017 10:08 AM, Dr. AJAY D A T A wrote:
> Asmus.. which would mean that you will not treat all domains (ascii / 
> non-ascii) same thus not UA ready.
> Am I missing something ?
Correct; in order to keep my forum free from spam, I'm merciless.
The forum is for owners of a particular item that was manufactured in 
the US and sold mainly there, but also in significant numbers in Brazil. 
Copies are known to exist in Germany, Italy, Guam and Australia. It is 
not impossible that isolated owners may be found in other locations, but 
it would be exceptional.
Every once in a while, the forum gets hit by spammers. So far, they are 
invariably linked with certain countries that do not overlap with our 
user base. That makes filters based on location / country / language / 
script really attractive (and effective).
We do not have the volume that allows us to run a Bayesian filter with 
any success. We are moderately active forum, which means that even one 
active spammer able to register can dominate; we found that all the 
standard deterrents (such as captchas) have unacceptable rates of leakage.
So, I'm sad to say, for this particular case, there's absolutely no 
upside to Universal Acceptance.
(At least not until my user base starts registering domains with emojis  
:) ).
PS: actually, I'm not particularly happy with this, because other than 
surviving spammers, there's no good reason to close off access.
> *Dr. Ajay DATA* *| Founder & CEO *
> Get email id like * <mailto:*???@????.????*> अजय@डाटा.भारत* in your own language,
> visit www.xgenplus.com  <http://www.xgenplus.com/> <http://www.xgenplus.com/>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> *From:* Asmus Freytag  <mailto:asmusf at ix.netcom.com> <asmusf at ix.netcom.com> MailId : [66024103]
> *To:* ua-discuss at icann.org
> *Subject: *[ajay.uasg at data.in] Re: [UA-discuss] Spam Filtering
> *Date:* 08 Feb 2017 11:27:42 PM
> On 2/8/2017 9:31 AM, Andrew Sullivan wrote:
> >  On Wed, Feb 08, 2017 at 04:47:52PM +0000, Andre Schappo wrote:
> >> Recently I tested sending email from my DataMail 小山 <mailto:小山@电邮.在线> @电邮.在线 to
> >> some people on gmail. Mostly they report that my email to them goes
> >> into their gmail Spam/Junk folder. I deduce that the gmail spam
> >> filtering software is treating chinese/unicode email addresses less
> >> favourably than ascii email addresses.
> >  That seems like a leap. How many of those people speak Chinese
> >  natively?
> >
> >  Most spam systems are Bayesian and have been taught to look for
> >  patterns that match other spam. Everyone who has taught gmail to
> >  recognize "Han in the headers == spam" will have to un-teach it that.
> >  I don`t know about you, but since I`m not a native user of Han
> >  characters I have certainly taught my spam filters such rules of
> >  thumb.
> >
> >  A
> Precisely. As a forum admin, I would cheerfully ban all non-ASCII
> e-mails for
> registration, because my user base is not world-wide, but the spammers
> are. Only reason I am not doing that today, is that the software doesn`t
> know about non-ascii e-mails yet :)
> A./
> .
> Do not Remove:
> [HID]20170208232741783[-HID] 
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mm.icann.org/pipermail/ua-discuss/attachments/20170209/38f3f52e/attachment.html>

More information about the UA-discuss mailing list